Tags

,

These are a few images from a recent maternity photo shoot. Iesha, Rob and Daijah met me at my studio in Fairfax. It was a beautiful day so we walked across the street to take a few shots in the park next to the County Government Center. Iesha and Rob had some great ideas and brought props along for the session. As you can see daughter Daijah was a natural in front of the camera.

I’m really digging the effect I used in these images. I played around with with the controls in lightroom with the initial thought I would try and come as close as I could to a ‘Dave Hill’ photography look. If you’re not familiar with his work, google his name and you’ll see what I’m referring to. Anyway, I didn’t get the effect I was going for, however, I liked the result. So this is what I did.

Slide the ‘recovery, fill-light, black, clarity and vibrance’ controls up to around 100% – Saturation- bring it down to around  -58.  The exposure, brightness and contrast are the controls to play around with to see what looks best with your selected image.  Under ‘Noise Reduction’ the higher the ‘ luminance’ slider, you’ll notice your image will get a more soft  ‘painterly’ look around the edges.  Try it and see what works for you.

Screen shot 2013-10-12 at 10.55.11 PM Screen shot 2013-10-12 at 10.55.40 PM