Tags

, , , , , , ,

Project_1338264-EDITED-Tonya_Linda_Nov_2012-23-1500x2257px Tonya and Linda_2012b-69 Tonya and Linda_2012b-72 Tonya and Linda_2012b-91

I had the pleasure of photographing the marriage of Linda and Tonya recently. This beautiful couple flew in from Georgia with a few families members to tie the knot in Dupont Circle at ‘Marriage DC’ with Officiant Tiffany Newman.

When did you and Linda meet?

“Linda and I met in high school in 1986. We were in ROTC together but we never talked. Our families were close but we didn’t know it until after we became a couple. I saw Linda again in 1999. I decided to go out to celebrate my first “A” in my doctoral class and Linda was at the same mutual spot. We spoke to each other and then I asked her if she wanted to dance. We danced that whole night and then she just walked away so I had to do some detective work to find out where she was. She finally called me and we decided to go out for her birthday. So, I picked her up on January 9, 2000 and took her to the beach for her birthday which was on January 10, 2000.”

Why did wear pink in your ceremony?

“We decided to wear pink because of Breast Cancer Awareness. I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer in 2011. During that time, I had a double mastectomy, chemotherapy and breast reconstruction. Today, I am happy to say I am cancer free. Although, Linda didn’t have breast cancer but she had a double mastectomy in 2000 because she had the 3 genes of fibrocystic disease that caused breast cancer.”

When and why did you decide to get married?
“Linda and I wanted to get married since the day we met but due to laws and the military, it was impossible. We were engaged since September 2001. Since times have changed we didn’t want life to pass us by without fulfilling our ultimate dream. I plans were to get married after Linda received her doctoral degree (next year) but we decided to take advantage of the opportunity this year especially since the laws have changed with the military as well as I have recovered from chemotherapy. Next year, we are having our reception with family in Atlanta along with going on our honeymoon in Hawaii.”

Tonya I wish you and Linda the best for a long and happy life together!

Valerie